Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club, Co. Tipperary, Ireland

Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club Notes 23rd July 2007

It was quite a sight to behold in Rathgormack on Friday evening last when 139 runners and 44 walkers set of on the inaugural Auto Power Rathgormack 5 in the shadow of the Comeraghs. The weather was not too kind during the day but just as the competitors hit the start line the rain subsided for the duration of the race. This was to be a historic night in the village on all counts as it was the first road race of its kind ever in Rathgormack, it smashed the club's record for race entries received by 31 runners and most importantly it saw the first presentation to the winner of the Joanne O'Donoghue Memorial Trophy and a huge fund raising effort for the Irish Cancer Society.

Irish Cancer Society
All of the runners and walkers either raised money on sponsorship cards or contributed on the night to the charity and it would appear after an initial count that we have well surpassed our target of 2000 Euro and with many cards still to be collected the figure is currently over 4000 Euro but we will have the exact figure over the next couple of weeks when all of the cards are in. Well done everyone!

Incidentally if there are cards out there they can be returned to Johnny or Maura Brunnock or Barbara in Auto Power. Thank You for your support.

Thank You
This race would never had happened if it was not for the support and hard work of the following people. Our main sponsors Auto Power, Clonmel Road, Carrick-on-Suir. The food on the night was also sponsored by Maudie Kennedy's Pub and Ned Kennedy's Bar, Rathgormack. Our overall series sponsors Outfield Sports, Carrick-on-Suir and Asics. Tipperary Natural mineral water for our post race water. We also would like the thank the Gardai, the Irish Red Cross and Waterford County Council. There was great work also done by the people on registration as well as all stewards on the road most of whom were local volunteers. A particular mention must go to Keith O'Shea who produced the results so fast and efficiently, as well as our ever dependable time keeper, famous cyclist, Bobby Power. Thanks to Cllr. Mary Greene and daughter Leah for getting both the walk and the run under way officially.

Thanks to all the clubs who traveled from far and wide to support this event. We would particularly like to thank our friends in West Waterford AC who as always provided us with much help and support before during and after the race especially James Veale, Tony Ryan, Brid and Gerry Cantwell and Michael Tutty. Thanks also the volunteers, supporters, committee members and injured runners of our own club who also helped out on the night. One of the highlights for many on the night was the post race food. It was superb, so hats off to all of the ladies who prepared and served the food on the night, again volunteers one and all. Thanks also to the committee of Rathgormack Hiking and Community Centre. A big mention must go to the walkers who braved the elements over the five mile route. Many were locals and all raised money for our chosen charity, thank you one and all. Thanks to Eddie Fogarty of Broadleaf who hand crafted the magnificent Joanne O'Donoghue Memorial Trophy. Thanks to Moylan, Megan, Rory and Daithi who looked after the collection buckets on the night.

Finally thanks to the Brunnock family, in particular John and Maura and extended family members who all put in a huge effort to get this race off the ground. It has been in the pipe line for a number of years and it was great to finally see it come to fruition.

The Race
Both the ladies and the mens race were tense and exciting affairs. The 2 winners of race 1 in the Outfield Sports Summers Series were again to the fore here in Rathgormack. In the mens event a group of about 10 runners lead the charge around the block until the 1 mile mark which was completed in 5.23. On the run down through the village the eventual winner Ravis Zakis (West Waterford AC) began to stretch things out. Only Pat O'Sullivan, Graeme McFadden and Paul Coady could keep in touch. Ravis however proved too strong for the opposition on the night as he reached the 3 mile mark with a clear lead. Mile 3-4 was particularly hard mile with a steep incline up to the 4 mile mark, but Ravis kept pushing as the group really split behind him. The crowds were out on the way up ‘The Village' to welcome the runners home and Ravis took the honours in a time of 27.17. The Joanne O'Donoghue Memorial Trophy was presented to Ravis by Joanne's husband Paul and two sons Sean and Daragh. Carrick's Pat O'Sullivan finished a brave 2nd in 27.36, while Graeme McFadden was 3rd in 27.57. The rest of the top 10 looked like this: 4. Paul Coady (KCH)-28.14; 5. John Shanahan (Dundrum AC)-28.34; 6. Johann Dewberry (Kilkenny AC)-29.08; Liam Budds (WWAC)-29.46; 7. Johnny Brunnock (Carrick AC)-29.49; 8. Patrick Riordan-29.54; 9. Gary McCormack (WWAC)-29.55; 10. Brian Byrne-29.57. Over 40: 1. Dick O'Gorman (Clonmel AC)-29.06; 2. Martin Hayes (WWAC)-29.48. Over 45: 1. Seamus Murphy (KCH)-28.45; Over 50: Laurence Lacey (St. Josephs)-28.37; Over 55: Joe Grinsell (Clonmel AC)-35.38; Over 60-Mick Neville-35.19. Junior: John Hannon-37.53. Team: West Waterford AC (Budds, Riordan, McCormack).

The ladies was again very close. With both 1st and 2nd setting particularly fast times over this testing course. Adele Walsh (St. Senans) was to set the pace in the ladies race. But she was being paid close attention by Orla Gormley  who travelled all the way from Dublin and the great Raheny AC (along with Tom Loftus who clocked 30.31 for the distance), to really put it up to Adele. As  she did in Ballyneale Adele really showed her strength over the tough last 2 miles and was not far off that magical 30 minute berrier to finish strongly up the hill in 30.49. Orla Gormley came home 2nd in 31.10, while 3rd went to Mary Burke (Waterford AC)-33.29. 4. Martina O'Dwyer (Carrick Ac)-33.50; 5. Mary Doolan (St Josephs)-34.03. Over 35-1. Miriam O'Gorman-36.49; Over 40: Ann Whelan (WWAC)-35.36; Over 45: Ger Houlihan (Carrick AC)-40.40; Over 50: Mags Power (Carrick AC)-41.07; Over 55: Angela Kirby-45.50. Junior: Sarah Hennessey (St. Josephs)-38.49; Team: Carrick-on-Suir AC (Lynch, O'Shea, Sexton).

Well done to all the local lads and ladies too who took to the roads some of them for their very first time, Ned Kennedy knows who I'm talking about!! It was a great sign of the sort of community spirit which is alive and well in Rathgormack but seems to be disappearing from other parts of the country. Well done to Padraig Larkin and Clodagh Flynn who took the prizes for 1st local male and female athlete (non affiliated). Well done there was also hot competition from the likes of Kevin Lynch, Vinny Murray, Ger Power and Gemma Greene to name but a few. There were also two very young Rathgormack men who ran proverbial stormers on the night. These were Gary Cantwell (KCK)-31.54 and James Greene (Ferrybank AC)-36.09. Bright furures ahead of both I'm sure you will agree.

Outfield Sports/Asics Summer Series
With only one race remaining in this all new league it is time to take a look at how the tables stand. The full tables will come out before the Carraig Hotel Deadmans 5, 12th August but here are the top 5 ladies and men after Rathgormack: Mens: 1. Ravis Zakis-2; 2. Pat O'Sullivan-5; 3. Paul Coady-8; 4. Seamus Murphy-14; 5. Dick O'Gorman-16; 6. John Shanahan-16.

Ladies: 1. Adele Walsh-50; 2. Keally Tidewell-97; 3. Emma Ferris-150; 4. Shirley O'Shea-166; 5. Elaine Barry-168.