Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club, Co. Tipperary, Ireland

Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club Notes 6th August 2007

It looks like it's all coming down to the wire in Carrick next Sunday 12th August when runners go to the line at 12 noon for the Carraig Hotel Deadman's 5. At a recent launch the Carraig Hotel were unveiled as the new sponsors of this event to the delight of Carrick-on-Suir AC. The generous sponsorship has meant that going into this events second year it will be one of the biggest road races in the South East in 2007. The Carraig will also host the prize presentation of not only the race but also of the Outfield Sports/Asics Summer Series.

The race details are as follows. As with last year registration and changing will take place in the Swan Sports Centre to the rear of Carrick Garda Station. Parking will also be catered for here. Runners and walkers can register from 10:30 a.m. The walk will commence at 11:30 while the run will head off 30 minutes later at 12:00 p.m. Registration for the walk is free while it is 8 Euro to enter the run, if you have not already entered the summer series at Ballyneale. Remember every runner who has comleted all 3 race will receive a special souvenir T-shirt. All intending participants are asked to arrive early as a large crowd is anticipated but also as the start is out at Ballyrichard a distance of over ¾ mile from registration (a good warm-up).

To the route itself. It starts as mentioned at Ballyrichard, heading in towards town via Collins Park, left across Ard Mhuire, left again at the Park onto Cregg Road for 1 mile before swinging left again into Deadman's Boreen (hence the name). After exiting the other end of the boreen after a distance of 1 mile the race will head into its last, fast 2 mile stretch towards Carrick and a grandstand finish close to the Town Park. As with last year it is hoped many spectators will come out along the way to lend their support to the runners and walkers.

Last years winners of the mens and ladies race were Sandis Bralitis (WWAC) and Diane Behan (WWAC). If both wish to defend their titles this year they will have stiff competition from the likes of Raivis Zakis, Pat O'Sullivan and Paul Coady in the mens and Adele Walsh and Kealy Tidewell in the ladies.

After finishing at the Park as well as the prize presentations the Carraig Hotel will also provide the post race refreshments. For all of the Waterford supporters, the All Ireland SHC semi final will also be shown on the big screen, so you wont miss a thing…..c'mon the Deise!

Outfied Sports/Asics Summer Series
Thanks to our overall series sponsors Outfield Sports, Main St., Carrick-on-Suir and Asics the series boasts top level prizes for the divisional winners. In all there are 42 runners eleigible for the series coming into this the third and final race, with 29 men and 13 ladies. There are 3 divisions in the mens competition with 2 in the ladies. This system guarantees that there will be a good spread in prizes and that it is still all to play for. The divisions are printed below. The score is based on your position in each race added. A runner must compete in all three. In this the final race runners can move up or down a division depending on their result in the Carraig Hotel Deadman's 5.

Mens-Division 1

1 ZAKIS, Raivis West Waterford 2

2 O'SULLIVAN, Pat Carrick AC 5

3 COADY, Paul Kilkenny City Harr. 8

4 MURPHY, Seamus Kilkenny City Harr. 14

5 SHANAHAN, John Dundrum AC 16

6 O'GORMAN, RichardClonmel AC 16

7 LACEY, Laurence St. Josephs 18

8 BRUNNOCK, JohnnyCarrick AC 25

9 BYRNE, Darragh Carrick AC 37

10 DUGGAN, Jack St. Josephs 50

Mens-Division 2

11 LOGUE, Dermot Other 55

12 CRONIN, Brendan Carrick AC 57

13 O'BRIEN, Tom West Waterford 57

14 CAHILL, Tommy Clonmel AC 74

15 BRUNNOCK, Paul West Waterford 85

16 BOLAND, Maurice Clonmel AC 95

17 CONNORS, David West Waterford 100

18 LAST, John Clonmel AC 118

19 TORPEY, Barry Carrick AC 120

20 DUHIG, Jim 121

Mens-Division 3

21 GRINSELL, Joe Clonmel AC 122

22 FOX, James Carrick AC 123

23 NEVILLE, Mick Other 124

24 O'GORMAN, Bill Other 137

25 COLEMAN, Billy West Waterford 146

26 BRUNNOCK, Paddy Carrick AC 150

27 LAST, Andrew Clonmel AC 151

28 O'SHEA, Michael Carrick AC 163

29 MURRAY, Ray West Waterford 191

Ladies-Division 1

1 WALSH, Adele St. Senans 50

2 TIDEWELL, Kealy Clonmel AC 97

3 FERRIS, Emma Clonmel AC 150

4 O’SHEA, Shirley Carrick AC 166

5 BARRY, Elaine 168

6 LYNCH, Geraldine Carrick AC 193

Ladies-Division 2

7 O’CONNOR, Mairead 207

8 SEXTON, Bernie Carrick AC 208

9 WALSH, Tara St. Senans 220

10RYAN, Una Carrick AC 225

11 TREACY, Colette Carrick AC 226

12 O’DONOVAN, Catherine Carrick AC 227

13 BALDWIN, Betty 232

14 WALSH, Marie Carrick AC 235