Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club, Co. Tipperary, Ireland

Carrick Road Runners Athletic Club Notes 24th August 2007

After 3 great races the club's inaugural summer series came to close after the Carraig Hotel Deadman's 5 recently. Back in May Ballyneale played host to race number 1 the Champion Kiely 5k sponsored by Clearpoint recycling. West Waterford's Raivis Zakis took the men's title on this occasion and smashed the course record in the process, clocking a very fast 15:15 minutes. Also in top form on the day was our ladies winner, Adele Walsh of St. Senan's. In Rathgormack it was groundhog day as both of these athletes took top honours in the first ever Auto Power Rathgormack 5. In the Carraig Hotel Deadman's 5 their supremacy was never really in doubt and both Raivis and Adele were deserving winners of that race and the overall series.

Not only did we have top class fields at all 3 races, runners also came in great numbers. In Ballyneale we had 106 runners, Rathgormack saw 139 runners go to the line with 44 walkers while 105 athletes started (and finished) the Deadman's. In all 31 runners completed all 3 races (24 men and 7 women) and were thus eligible form the series. As well as the outright winners there were some great performances by runners like Pat O'Sullivan, Dick O'Gorman, Lar Leacy and Darragh Byrne. While the Carrick ladies including Shirley O'Shea, Catherine O'Donovan, Bernie Sexton, Colette Treacy, Una Ryan and Marie Walsh once again did the club proud.

Here is how the series finished up: 

Mens - Division 1 - Club - Total

1 ZAKIS, Raivis West Waterford 3
2 O'SULLIVAN, Pat Carrick AC 10
3 O'GORMAN, Richard Clonmel AC 24
4 LACEY, Laurence St. Josephs 24
5 MURPHY, Seamus Kilkenny City Harr. 25
6 BRUNNOCK, Johnny Carrick AC 44
7 BYRNE, Darragh Carrick AC 51
8 DUGGAN, Jack St. Josephs 71

Mens - Division 2

9 LOGUE, Dermot Other 71
10 O'BRIEN, Tom West Waterford 77
11 CRONIN, Brendan Carrick AC 94
12 BRUNNOCK, Paul West Waterford 115
13 CAHILL, Tommy Clonmel AC 125
14 BOLAND, Maurice Clonmel AC 136
15 DUHIG, Jim Other 155
16 CONNORS, David West Waterford 167

Mens - Division 3

17 WOLSKI, Jowoslaw Other 169
18 TORPEY, Barry Carrick AC 170
19 GRINSELL, Joe Clonmel AC 175
20 NEVILLE, Mick Other 187
21 O'GORMAN, Bill Other 192
22 COLEMAN, Billy West Waterford 212
23 BRUNNOCK, Paddy Carrick AC 215
24 O'SHEA, Michael Carrick AC 237

Ladies - Division - Club - Total

1 WALSH, Adele St. Senans 72
2 O'SHEA, Shirley Carrick AC 243
3 SEXTON, Bernie Carrick AC 305
4 O'DONOVAN, Catherine Carrick AC 325
5 RYAN, Una Carrick AC 326
6 TREACY, Colette Carrick AC 326
7 WALSH, Marie Carrick AC 339

Finally a big thank you to our overall series sponsors Outfield Sports and asics without whom this series would not have been possible. Prize winners were delighted with an amazing array of prizes from Blarney Woolen Mills. Well done to all our winners and see you in 2008!

The 1 mile challenge
Be part of the all new 1 mile series which will be run over the 4 Tuesday's of September at grass tack behind the Sean Kelly Sports Centre at 7 p.m. We will have different mile races here depending on your fitness level and your time predicted for the 4 laps of the track. You can run, jog or walk the mile and all are welcome, you don't have to be a club member to enter. Entry on the night is 2 Euro. These races will act as a good basis for the clubs upcoming Winter League which will once again be held at Kildalton College, Piltown from mid October.